The tastiest little pasta shop

2014-08-19 18.11.55

Today’s post is a restaurant showcase here in Limerick.  La Cucina is widely considered one of the best pasta restaurants in Limerick.  Mister S. used to eat here all the time, and he took me there the last time I came to Ireland for a visit.  We got there around 5:30-6pm and it was packed!  We got the last seat in the place.

2014-08-19 17.44.48

I had been planning on making pasta for supper, so in a way…we weren’t totally cheating on our ‘eating out less’ plan.  It was pasta, we were going to be eating pasta…same thing, right?

2014-08-19 17.43.11

He’s simply happy that he doesn’t have to do the dishes tonight ^^

The staff was super polite and even indulged my whim of wanting to drink my pink lemonade out of a wine glass, so they get points for that!  Everywhere we looked the food was being consumed with vigor.  They offer both lunch and dinner options with a delectable range of grilled sandwiches, pizzas (in the Italian style – thin crust cooked in a fire oven), and delicious, delicious pastas.

2014-08-19 17.43.08

Mister S. ordered the gnocchi special and I the carbonara.  Now, whenever I go out for pasta and can’t decide what I want I usually order carbonara.  If only because this is the one type of pasta I just cannot master cooking for myself.  Tomato sauce?  Easy.  Alfredo?  Can do.  But Carbonara?  For some reason I just can’t get my head around the oil (butter or cream most often), cheese, and egg yolk nonsense.  However, way back when some long time ago, I must have had an absolutely perfect carbonara, for every single time I order it in a restaurant, it’s found lacking.

2014-08-19 17.49.41

You’ll be pleased to know though that La Cucina stepped up and brought forth a carbonara pasta that I was ecstatically happy for.  Even Mister S. who has the same tribulations over carbonara as I, agreed that this was one of the best we’ve ever had.

2014-08-19 17.49.50

His gnocchi was also wonderful, but we both love gnocchi, so that’s also a moot point.  There was a nice lemon taste to the sauce and the rocket leaves wilted in nicely.  The prices were decent for supper prices here in Ireland, with each dish ranging around 10 euros.

2014-08-19 17.43.26

I’m a sucker for cute desserts and couldn’t resist not buying a pair of macarons for us for an after supper sweet.  However, we were both so stuffed from our pastas that they had to wait until we got home and let our very full stomachs digest a bit.  The green one was pistachio and reminded me of pistachio pudding.  The pink one, as the lady at the restaurant informed me when I was ordering, was sometimes raspberry, sometimes lemon.  It turned out to be lemon.

2014-08-19 18.12.18

I am not going to be giving a ranking system of this restaurant…but that’s also because I believe that it would be impossible for me to be an impartial party.  I like food waaayyy to much to do that.  I would be giving everyone ten stars if I enjoyed the food even a little bit ^^

All in all?  Delicious food, not a lot of sitting space, but they offer a very small discount if you’re getting takeaway.  I would most definitely go back there again, even if it is a little out of the way (it is about a kilometer away from the university).  Also, they sell their sauces, pastas, and some of their meats and cheese as well, so you can recreate some of the tastes from home!

Next post, Cork!

Till next time~

 

3 thoughts on “The tastiest little pasta shop

Leave a Reply

