Making my phone work here in Ireland

2014-08-27 11.19.56

So, as many of you know, I usually get by in a new country relying entirely on the country’s wifi for my contact back home.  But seeing as how I am going to be here for a year, it just didn’t make sense to not have at least a partially working phone.  So, I’m going to show you how to transform your other country phone to be workable here in Ireland.

When I first decided to move, a part of me was a little heartbroken.  The reason?  It meant I had to keep my old phone just a little bit longer!  For those of you who know me in person, my good old Galaxy S2 has been having a bit of a rough time this last year…it certainly hasn’t help that it’s been dropped into water once and splashed a second time.  All things said and done, I’m quite shocked that it’s still working.  That said, I was really, really hoping for an upgrade.  Alas, it shall last me a little bit longer.  A nice thing about smart phones, once you unlock them, they are essentially an unlimited gateway!

First step, decide which phone company you want to go with.  Be warned, electronics tend to be more expensive here in Ireland compared to many others (for example, the Galaxy S5 phone here was €569 (~$839 CND) without a contract. Whereas in Canada without a contract through Sasktel the phone would be $730.  Not a bit difference, but still a hundred dollars difference at the end of the day.

Now, when you go with SWAP, part of your entrance package includes a €10 sim card for O2.  However, after doing some look around, and hearing what Mister S. had to say, it seemed like Meteor was the better company for me.  For €10 a month you could pick from either unlimited texting, unlimited calling, or unlimited data.  Since I mainly use kakaotalk for keeping in touch with my family and friends essentially from around the world, the €10 data was the way to go for me.  This was great especially because Mister S and I only have one key fob to get into the place with, and if he can’t get a hold of me, well…he does tend to be locked out.

There are phone unlocking shops all over the downtown here in Limerick.  Pretty much anywhere you see a sign that says ‘phone repair’, they can unlock your phone.  So, for €20 and a half an hour wait, my phone was unlocked and ready to take on its new phone number (which is super hard for me to remember…I’ve only had one cell phone number my entire life and it’s going to take some getting used to a new one.)

And there you go!  Getting a working phone in Ireland was a simple as two stops.  Also, sorry about the lack of pictures for this post.  To keep you placated, here’s a picture to tide you over:

2014-08-20 14.28.46

 

P.S. Can anyone tell me if this is an actual thing?  Do Italians have a traditional Fish & Chips? o.O

Leave a Reply

