Things I loved this week: TEDxSinchon and Incheon

2013-05-24 17.03.13

Hard to believe how time is flying!  Another week has come and gone!  On Friday (the 24th) I made a day trip to visit my good friend 지희 (Ji-hee) in 인천 (Incheon).  And on Saturday (the 25th) I attended the 7th TEDxSinchon event at the UPLEX!! (I was super pumped about that one for weeks!  As someone who’s been watching TED Talks for years, it was a great time!)

This week’s Posty Song is completely relevant to the post!  It is called ‘러브블러썸’ (Love Blossom) and is by solo artist: K.will.  The reason why it is relevant…will be revealed further down in the post! ^^

2013-05-28 14.00.29Me about to enjoy some tasty Bee Cheng Hiang!

Also, before I begin, I want to send a shout out to my readers from Singapore!!  On Sunday (the 27th) views on my site topped out at 146 (may not be a huge number for some, but it was a record for me!) and you accounted for over 80% of those views!  Thanks guys!  You’ve totally blown away all the competition this month in my monthly Stats War! (just something I do to amuse myself and see who reads my blog the most …it usually involves me eating foreign snacks ^^ )  Hope you continue to enjoy reading!

On to the list!~

2013-05-24 12.54.12

Incheon!

2013-05-24 12.18.22

I arrived at 계양 역 (gyeyang yeok – Gyeyang Station) at noon at met Ji-hee at the station exit.  We went an ate lunch together first and had 부대찌개 (budaejjigae – army stew).

2013-05-24 13.32.13

After that we went to her home and I got to meet her adorable dogs: 루비 (Ruby) and 설이 (Seori).

2013-05-24 15.05.53

After we finished playing with the dogs, we got on the subway and headed towards Incheon.  We ate 만고 빙수 (mango bingsu – a dish of shaved milk ice with mango…traditionally served with red beans instead of mango)…

2013-05-24 16.18.02

2013-05-24 16.29.08

2013-05-24 16.32.41

Walked around China Town and the adjoined park…

1

2

Took some silly pictures with Chinese food ^^ ….

2013-05-24 17.21.14

and went to the 월미도테마파크 (wolmido temapakeu – Wolmido theme Park).

2013-05-24 17.50.42

Posty Song relevance time!  Anyone who has watched the video for ‘Love Blossom’ knows it takes part at an amusement park in Korea…well, that amusement park is none other than Wolmido.  Ji-hee and I watched the DJ spin people around on the Apollo Disc similarly to the video…thankfully, in this case no one died ^^  (If you haven’t seen the video, I’ve included it at the bottom of the post.)

2013-05-24 16.55.18

It was a good, long day and we had a great time!

2013-05-25 13.09.22

TEDxSinchon!

I found out about the TEDx event in Sinchon back in April right before the early bird deadline was over.  I immediately signed up and had my friend 현진 (Hyeon-jin) help me transfer the 20,000원 fee.  After that it was simply an antagonizing ~2month wait until the actual day!

2013-05-25 12.55.37The line to get in

The title of the event was ‘The Cabinet of Curiosities’ and the topics of discussion were a range of ideas all based on broadening your curiosity.  

2013-05-25 16.35.08

The talks were all in Korean, but they had nifty little headsets for us with simultaneous translation going on the whole time.  I give a huge kudos to the girls who did that!  It would have not been an easy feat.  They were was a bit of lag sometimes…but that only occured when the speakers got going really fast.

2013-05-25 14.23.52Mahbub Alam

We saw a range of speakers…from a Nuclear Energy and Quantum Engineering Chair Professor at KAIST (one of my favourite talks ^^  Did you know that Canada has the second lowest cost for energy second only to South Korea?), a naturalized South Korean citizen from Bangladesh who first came to Korea 14 years ago as a paid labourer and went on to be a movie producer (and spoke fluent Korean).
2013-05-25 17.51.42이형재 (Lee Hyeong-jae)

an architect (see image above), an artist couple who talked about using words and images to change people’s perspectives…

2013-05-25 17.31.45허수연 (Heo Su-yeon)

And a woman who left her job as an office worker to start a Korean calligraphy company.

The conference went from ~1pm (it was a little bit delayed) until ~6:30pm.  I went alone, but I got chatting in a mix of Korean and English with the fellow sitting besides me during the breaks.  We got free iced coffees and heart shaped churros at every break…so that was a bonus! ^^

2013-05-25 18.16.53The Tree of Curiosity

Till next time!~

P.S. Anyone interested in future TEDxSinchon events, please check out their website here.

P.P.S.  ‘Love Blossom’ by K.will

Leave a Reply

