Things I loved this week: The Looonnnngggg overdue edtion

Back, after a long hiatus…TIL!!  I blame my sady-self for not venturing too far from my room and seeing the many amazing things that 서울 (Seoul) has to offer.  But I have come to fix that!  On to the list!!

This week’s posty-song is the new 악동뮤지션 (Akdong Musician) single ‘I Love You‘ off of the Everything About my Relationship OST.  If you didn’t know, I’m a bit of a fan-girl for this brother sister pair.  I was utterly ecstatic when I found out they won KPOP Star 2!  Such a cute talented pair.  Enjoy the song!

DSCF3172

This is a cute heart shaped cloud that was out the day of I went to view cherry blossoms with my friend 현정 (Hyeon-jeong).

1367403085583

Finally being in 명동 (Myeong-dong) early enough that I could actually try one of these 2,000원 ice creams (though, in complete honesty’s sake, mine was a yoghurt-strawberry swirl ^^)

1367216478971

Finding my absolute favourite flower of all time here in Seoul –> the Livingstone Daisy (aka: the Ice Plant)!!  Kind of strange flower to pledge undying love to, but it has my heart!  Growing up whenever I would follow my mum to the greenhouse to buy new flowers for the season, I would always make sure she had a few pots of this one to plant on the East side of the house.

2013-04-27 14.45.31

And because they’re so nice, I’m posting it twice!!  Fun fact, Livingstone daisies open up in the morning and close in the night as the sun disappears.  They also have leaves that look like they’re covered in ice.

1367059675871

Eating 호떡 (hoddeok in 인사동 (Insadong) with two of my classmates Hyeon-jong and Yuka.

2013-04-27 16.36.52

Cute hand decorated paper coffee cups marking the way to a ‘hidden in the wall’ coffee shop in 삼청동 (Samcheong-dong).

2013-04-27 16.28.36

Dinosaurs!  Swarovski Crystals now come in colourful little creatures of the past~ ^^ …expensive ones.

2013-04-24 13.16.27

Getting my absolute favourite cafeteria meal after over a month without being in the cafeteria at the right time!  Even the 반찬 (banchan – side dishes) are some of my favourites!  오뎅 (odeng – fish cakes), 콩나물 무침 (kongnamul muchim  – seasoned bean-spouts) and깍두기 (kkakdugi – radish kimchi)!!  It was an excellent start to my free time!

2013-04-27 13.15.30

Hyeon-jong (one of my classmates from Taiwan) posing with the 아저씨 (ahjussi – older gentleman) from my favourite 순두부 찌개 (sundubu jjigae – soft tofu stew) restaurant in 신촌 (Sinchon).  When we all went for lunch that day, he recognized me as we came in and knew my order!  I’ve never felt so important in Korea before ^^

1

Two of my most common walking paths (to the left, the way to 이대 (Edae) and to the right, towards 서강 (Sogang) and 신촌 (Sinchon).  Spring is definitely so much nicer here than winter!!

DSCF3236

These Canadian sparkly sequence and beaded shoes!  I’m not sure who or why they made these in a small shop in 홍대 (Hongdae), but I approve!!

2013-04-26 14.41.44

A kitty plushie for the sake of a kitty plushie ^^  I actually found this in a Holika Holika make-up store of all places.

2013-04-25 19.49.48

These are some bizarre backpacks I found on the basement floor of the U-PLEX in Sinchon.  Is it wrong that I kind of want the green owl one?

2013-04-26 20.29.55

Not really a thing I loved, but I feel this is the place to put it.  One of my friends from Singapore decided he had had enough of Korea and bought a last minute ticket back to Singapore.  He wasn’t going to tell anyone that he was leaving, but I’m glad he did.  We managed to squeeze in one last supper and coffee hang out before he flew out at 9am the next morning.  This is pulling off our best pouty-sad-‘all the while not laughing’ faces.  If you see this Tim, expect a visitor in Singapore someday!

That’s it for this week!  Sadly this time here in Korea is starting to reach it’s conclusion, but I still a few more adventures on the plan before I leave!  What are these exciting adventures?  You’re just going to have to keep reading to find out!~ ^^ (here’s a spoiler though…I’m going to be leaving the country very soon!)

Till next week!~

P.S. Sisters, recognize this face? ^^  Tim also found it hilarious.  We shared a ‘batting eyelashes at the ceiling’ moment.

Leave a Reply

