Things I loved this week: My 방학 edition

https://myhomesawayfromhome.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/happy_things_-_j_rabbit1.mp3

My 방학 (banghak – school vacation) ran from February 22nd until March 2nd, and boy-oh-boy have I ever been busy!  I don’t think I’ve gotten home before 11:30pm a single night the entire week!  I’ve made a lot of new friends, and even though I didn’t manage to leave Seoul, I still got to see a bunch of new things (such as hiking around 북악산 (Bugaksan – Bugaksan Mountain)!

I’m also going to try doing something different.  This week I’m introducing the Posty Songs!  If you hadn’t noticed the new little ‘play’ button at the top of the posts, I’d like to direct your attention to it now…heck, I might even go as far as to suggest you try pushing play!  ^^  Essentially what I’ll be doing is putting a different song up with every post.  The songs will be Korean (because, after all, that’s what you’re here for ^^), but I won’t limit it to only new music.  Look forward to a pleasant mix of different types of Korean music!  The Posty Song today is one of my all time favourite Korean songs:  “Happy Things” by Korean indie duo J Rabbit (Not to be confused with J.Rabbit).

I could gush on them for pages, so instead please just listen to their cheery song and it’s onwards to the list!

In Sean’s own words: “Me looking cold on the ferry on the Baltic Sea en route to Suomenlinna.”

First up, I have to send a shout out to my good friend Sean Boots!   Hi Sean! ^^ Sean is an awesome person and sent me a amazing email before my finals cheering me on!  He’s currently living in Finland doing a semester abroad in Helsinki for his masters.  I’ve looked at his pictures and it makes me really miss living in Norway.  Hopefully he keeps having a great time!  Scandinavia is simply fantastic!

Wonder Woman in Korea is a blonde!

I’m sure most people have memories of playing the recorder back when they were elementary school.  Well, in Korea not only do they offer recorders…they also have ocarinas!!  I would have much preferred to learn how to play ‘hot cross buns’ on that baby ^^

A cute notebook cover I saw whilst perusing a book store.  You can’t go wrong with bunnies and Avengers.  Does anyone know who the one on the far left is trying to be?  The one with the yellow cape is the only one I’m stuck on.

I found this sign outside the changes rooms to be rather humorous.

It was quickly followed by the door telling me to be happy because it was occupied ^^

When we were walking down from Mt. Bugaksan we walked towards the Gyeongbokgung Station and came across the 통인 시장 (tongin shijang – Tongin Market) by accident and found these bottleflies.  A really neat place with amazing food!  If we hadn’t been in such a hurry we would have definitely spent more time there.  If you’re interested in checking it out, head out exit one of Gyeongbokgun Station and walk about 10 mintues or so.  The market will run down the alley on your left.  If you hit the Embassy of the People’s Republic of China, you’ve gone too far.

This cute shirt with poor grammer.  If it didn’t have an angry kitty-cat being nom’ed on by a dinasaur I would have probably passed it over in Zara.

Hello Kitty Cafe!  There isn’t much I can say about this coffee shop other than that it was cute, pink, and overtly sweet ^^  It was fun, but oh so pink!

Till next week!

P.S. If you ever want to request a song, or know of any interesting music please leave a comment any time!  I’m always looking for new music to listen to.

5 thoughts on “Things I loved this week: My 방학 edition

Leave a Reply

