It’s almost November!

I know that this blog is supposed to be predominately for Korean related items (and it will be), but I just can’t contain myself.  It’s almost November, which means two things: 1) It’s just over a month until I’ll be in Korea, and 2) it’s almost my favourite time of the year! –>  NaNoWriMo!!!!!!!!!

Yes…my favourite time of year is not Christmas, my birthday, or any other family holidays.  It is the wonderful National Novel Writing Month (aka:  NaNoWriMo).  Every year, from 12:01 am on November 1st until 11:59 pm on November 30th I join up with approximately 300,000 other writers from all over the world and aim for the goal of writing 50,000 words.  This will be my forth time participating, and I’m hoping for my forth win!  Seriously, I cannot think of a better way to spend a month then by working each day to reach my word goal.

For any writers out there, sign up!! It is such a great program.  There is tons of support on the forums, including an adopt a plot if you’re stumped for ideas, plenty of boards where you can ask questions (like how to how to use that tricky Russian slang, or what kinds of deaths would go unnoticed by a coroner…I’m just saying!), and separate forum pages for other enthusiastic people writing in your genera.

People always ask me why I would want to do something as crazy as spend hours each day writing every November.  To which I always give them the same answer: “Because it’s AWESOME!”  I kid you not.  It’s a week away and I’m already giddy with excitement.

It’s not as hard as one might imagine.  In order to write 50,000 words in 30 days, you need to write 1,667 words a day.  This is approximately three pages a day.  Don’t get discouraged, you can do it!   My usual goal is to write between 2,000-3,000 words a day.  This way you finish approximately a week early (which is nice if you have final projects/exams).  This year I’m challenging myself and aiming at an additional 10,000 words.  I was originally going to aim for 75,000 instead of 60,000, however this year I just don’t see myself competing that goal.

This year is going to be an interesting one.  If you didn’t know (which you probably should have if you’re reading this), I’m moving to Korea on November 26th.  This means, on top of preparing to leave Canada, packing, and conquering pre-leaving jitters, I’ll also being working my way through my 4th NaNo-novel.  Crazy?  Maybe so, but I wouldn’t have it any other way ^^

Is anyone else going to be doing NaNoWriMo this year?  If you’re interested, check out the website: here.  Drop a comment if you’re going to be participating!  I’m always looking for other writing buddies!

Because this wouldn’t be a Korean blog if I didn’t mention something about Korea in each post, I do believe I may have just found my goal for a few weekends once I’m in Korea.  Visiting Drama Sets!!!!  When I was looking through the Visit Korea website (a part of the KTO – Korean Tourism Organization), I came across this page.  It has several famous dramas and directions to sites where the drama had been filmed.  The list has some of my favourites: The 1st Shop of the Coffee Prince, The Sun that Embraces the Moon, Dream High, and more!  This may show that I’m a bit more of a dork then you may have first believed, but I can’t wait to see the filming locations….well, that and stand in the same place as Kim Soo Hyun [김 수 현]  (aka –> My future husband).

^^ Joking aside, I think this will be something that would be kind of nifty to do.   I’m working on a few lists of things I plan to do while in Korea.  In a few days I may open up a new page with my check-list.

Here’s an example of one of the sites from The Sun that Embraces the Moon:

Back to creating my packing list   ㅇ(‘-‘ㅇ) (ㅇ’-‘)ㅇ   Till next time!

Leave a Reply

