Who said learning Korean vocabulary couldn’t be fun?

Sorry, it’s been a while since my last post.  I’m still trying to get the housing thing in order and build up some resources to show you.  My visa is not in yet, but ANY day now.  I’m growing all atwitter (defined as:  nervously concerned…not to be confused with ‘a twitter feed’) with anticipation.  I haven’t heard from the consulate as of yet, so I’m going to keep on believing that I managed to sign my name on all the proper lines this time.

Now, when I’m learning vocabulary for anything, I’m a big fan of flashcards and games.  When those fail, I go to any cutely illustrated pages with adorable creatures on them for building up my wordlist.  One of my favourites that I’ve just discovered comes from the website Funny Kpop Stuff.

Credit : Korean Times          

All above images credit to: Korean Times

Now, I know what you’re thinking…that sounds like a fine and upstanding establishment filled with wonder and knowledge.  And it is!!…at least on the knowledge part.  I’ve only explored the Hangul pages which includes four pages full of the sets like the one above with important Korean words.  It has both vocab sets and situational sentences.  I like how each sheet has approximately 10-15 words.    A nice amount for learning in one go.  The words in each sheet are related to each other, which makes it easier for associating the words in real life….or at least that has been my experience.  From what I can tell, all these images have been credited to the Korean Times.

Over all I really like the hangul page of Funny Kpop Stuff, but if the .gif of Rain poking himself in the eye as he fails to put on his sunglasses is any indication of the website I’m sure it is filled with other amusing things as well.

Now as I get ready to start studying Korean full time, I like to prepare myself by studying Korean every day; even if it’s only for five minutes, it’s still something.  My favourite way is pulling up some of my favourite Korean language apps on my phone.  I have a Samsung Galaxy S2, so all my apps were downloaded for free off of the Android Market.  I’m sure some of them are also available on the itunes (that is the right one, right?) market.  Here are a few of my favourites:

   Numbers:  Oh boy!  I found numbers so intimidating when I first saw them…In Korean there is two sets of numbers: native numbers and sino-korean numbers.  I’ll be straight up honest, I still don’t know the right way to use both sets, but I can now count to a fair amount with both.  I recommend Learn Korean Numbers  and Korean Bubbles .   (All links for apps go to the Android Market webpage.)

   Vocab:  For learning vocabulary I like short lists.  This way I actually feel like I’m learning something once I’ve memorized a full list.  The two apps I use the most for this is: Korean Vocabulary Learning (what a confusing title…I almost didn’t know what it was for!)  and Namu .  Namu is one of those rare apps where I am actually going to pay the $3.99 to buy the full version.  It sets a number of words you need to memorize before you ‘re allowed to move on to the next level.  It makes it almost like a game as you test yourself on vocabulary.  Another thing I really like about the Namu app, is that it allows you change the setting so that it will not only quiz you on Korean words for an English meaning, but some of the questions will give you the English word and ask you to find the right Korean translation.  The audio is also pretty decent for this app.

   Short Audio Lessons:  I’m a big fan of the website TTMIK (Talk to me in Korean).  It is just incredible…’nuf said.  Using the audio and .pdf lessons that are on the website, KORLINK is a nice option for learning on the road.

  One last app I want to recommend, is one that is also available to people without smartphones; Study Blue  .    Study Blue is not only an app for both iPhones and people running the Android Market, it is also a full free website (found here).  I really, really like Study Blue.  It is entirely devoted to making and using flashcards.  Not only can you make your own flashcards and separate them into folders by class/subject, you can also view other public flashcards created by others.

I hope there was some useful information here if you’re at all interested in any some good starter Korean vocab help.  If you know of any other good apps/websites please comment on this post!  I’m always looking for new study aids!

Till next time!

Leave a Reply

