Kimchi making!

Before we begin…I have a confession to make.  I have strayed from the plan.

Instead of making the Quick Kimchi I originally said I was going to make, I’ve decided to go one step further and make this baechu kimchi (napa cabbage kimchi; one of the most common types) found at Aeri’s Kitchen.  I have been a long time fan and watcher of her Korean cooking blog/youtube channel.  I don’t know why I didn’t look to her recipes first.  After close examination between the two recipes I found that the difficulty level wasn’t that much different, and I would probably enjoy this version a bit more.

Since this is my first time making kimchi, and I’m following the recipe as close as possible I won’t be writing a word for word copy of the recipe. Instead I’ll post a picture montage along with the steps I’m taking with it.  The recipe link to Aeri’s Kitchen is amazing, I’d suggest looking there for all the ingredients, amounts, and full instructions.
So here we go!

Step 1:

Split the napa cabbage into fours, rinse in the salt water solution.

Step 2:

Spread the coarse grain salt on each leaf of the cabbage.

(sorry, but I do not have a picture of me doing this step. I needed both of my hands for salting and had none left over for picture taking)

Step 3:

Re-submerge cabbage in the salt solution, making sure that they are fully submerged.

(I used a heavy cast iron pan to keep my cabbage submerged)

Step 4:

Wait 4-5 hours.

Tick tock…  Tick tock…

Step 5:
Alright!  It’s three in the morning (I know, I know…I should have started my kimchi earlier/next day, but I was a girl on a mission), and it’s now time to rinse the salty cabbage two times.

Step 6:
Leave the kimchi to drain for two hours.

It’s back to bed for me!

Step 7:
It is now a much more reasonable hour in the morning and my cabbage has finished draining!  Time to make the sweet rice flour and water mixture.

(it took her about 10 minutes of cooking, it took me 11-12 minutes.  Also, you can’t really see the bubbles, but they’re there.)

Step 8:
Cut up the rest of the ingredients.

 (Diakon uncut)

(Diakon cut up)

(chives)

(most of an onion)

(garlic and ginger)

(the rest of the onion+some apple)

(and what happens to said apple and onion)

Step 9:
Blend together the rice flour mixture, red pepper powder, and radish.

Step 10:
Throw in the rest of the chopped ingredients plus your fish sauce and a bit of sugar.

P.S. It is after this step that you taste the sauce and see if you need to add anything.  I did, and I think it’s going to be WAY to spicy for me.  Ah well, my mum will love it.

Step 11:
Spread the mixture over every leaf.  Try to cover the entire surface.

Step 12:
Yay! The hard part is done!  All that is left is to leave my kimchi at room temperature for a day and then place it in my new snazzy kimchi jar and keep it in the refrigerator for a week.

Hope you liked the pictures!  I had fun making it, despite the silly hours I had to wake up to rinse my cabbage.  I need to let it ferment for about a week, but who knows?  I may not be able to last that long.  I’ll leave a note about how it tastes at a later date.

Till next time!

2 thoughts on “Kimchi making!

  1. I was up at 5 am soaking my cabbage last time I made kimchi so I feel ya. lol Thanks for sharing your experience! I think I’ll give this recipe a try. ^_^

Leave a Reply

