A Korean cooking aside…

…So,with my growing love of Korea, I was dying to try Korean food.  I had seen far too many dramas display mouth-watering bowls of jjajangmyeon (black bean noodles), mandoo (dumplings), or samgyupsal (grilled pork strips) to not be curious.

Now, I am from a rather small city (roughly 250,000 people).  It doesn’t have much for a ‘Asia-town’ of any denomination.  That, however is slowly changing!  Over the last year, my city got its first Korean Restaurant (of which I am a regular customer) run by a lovely group of people from the Gyeonggi province, and one of the two main Asian grocery stores started to stock items such as gochujang (red pepper paste) and doenjang (soybean paste).  The one thing they were missing from these stores was small sized containers of kimchi (spicy fermented cabbage, but can also be made of other vegetables).  I think the smallest size they stocked was a large 10 litre container.  Now, I don’t know about you, but I am fairly certain my fridge couldn’t hold a container that size.

So, I’ve been going kimchi-less in my cooking endeavours, which makes me rather sad considering that kimchi jjigae (kimchi stew) is one of my favourite Korean dishes that I’ve been lucky to try so far.  I’ve consider trying to make my own kimchi but have been far to intimidated by the vast variety of the recipes I’ve found online.  I didn’t want to dedicate myself to something so large and with no real guarantee that it would turn out.

Until now!

I’ve recently found a recipe captioned kimchi for beginners (found here).  Granted it wouldn’t be a perfect recipe, it is one that is simple enough to not scare me off.  This will likely be my Sunday-Monday project, so in a few day I’ll make a short post about how the making of it turned out and another about the taste after it ferments.

Does anyone have a kimchi recipe that they swear by?  Because I would love to hear about it!  Also, if there is anyone on who reads this that is more proficient at Korean cooking than my very beginner level, I have a question.  I recently bought a ddukbaegi (a earthenware pot).   How do you heat it up?  It didn’t come with any guidelines and I’m curious.  Am I allowed to simply heat it over a stove element for cooking jjigae?

Till next time!

**Update**    

Due to some unfortunate circumstances, both my sister and I were really sick this weekend, so kimchi making has been moved from Sunday-Monday, to Monday-Tuesday.  Off to get the cabbage now!

One thought on “A Korean cooking aside…

  1. I like the helpful info you supply for your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and test again here frequently. I’m rather sure I’ll learn plenty of new stuff right right here! Best of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

